Off the Coast of Support, Near the Sanity Islands

Originally published 7/13/14 on the See Bethany Blog

“Freedom is a flame that 
burns within ya’…”
I’ve heard those words attributed to everyone from Thomas Jefferson to Will Rogers, but they were actually written by Peter Udell for the musical Shenandoah. The song has been in my head recently as I’ve, on more than one occasion, asked myself, “Now remind me again – why did I self-publish?”

Publishing is difficult, whether you are self-published or you are J. K. Rowling. 

(ARE you J. K. Rowling? If so, let me just say thank you for stopping by! I’m a huge fan!)
But I self-published for the freedom I knew it would allow. I wrote a book series which is quirky on its best day, insane on its worst (maybe it’s the other way around) and I am absolutely passionate about it.
I self-published for the freedom to let mypassion project be what it needed to be. 

Why is it that we often believe that in order to attain freedom, we must go it alone? I expected that  to be the case with self-publishing. Don’t get me wrong, I have had the assistance and support of my friends and family, but I initially rejected the idea of joining groups of other passionate, hard-working, determined authors and people who just love reading and writing in general. Why? Because I am a freedom-seeking martyr, prepared to go it alone.

Well, that was stupid. Just plain stupid.
I finally took a dive into the foreign waters of Rave Reviews Book Club (just off the coast of Support, near the Sanity Islands) and for the first time I understood that I can’t go it alone. Or at least, I shouldn’t.

Picture

I had one day as a Push Week author (you can read more about that here) and that one day made me feel as if I had a staff of hundreds, all working to support me and my vision. And then, after my one day…IT DIDN’T STOP. The support was still there. And guess what? It has become a joy to try and support my fellowRRBC authors in the same way, because I have come to recognize that I don’t want to go it alone – and no one else should either. 

Freedom is a flame that burns within me, and it is amazing to be part of a group which fans the flame and keeps it burning, even when my wood is wet, the winds are howling, and I’m just not sure how much longer I can hold on.

If you are an author in search of a support system, you’ll find one at Rave Reviews Book Club. Give an inch and your fellow authors will give you a mile. Trust me…it is what you need, whether you realize it or not. If you are a reader who just loves books and wants to be part of a group which is on the cutting edge of the literary world, join Rave Reviews Book Club. And if you are J. K. Rowling, well…we’d love to have you join as well! 
But mostly, just thanks for stopping by. 

Please take a few moments to read what other Rave Reviews Book Clubmembers have to say about RRBC, and then PLEASE take a moment to vote for the blog you think is the best. 
(Feel free to be like J. K. Rowling. 
I have it under good authority that she is voting for Bethany Turner.)
LEGAL DISCLAIMER: THERE IS NO EVIDENCE WHATSOEVER THAT J. K. ROWLING EVER VISITED THIS SITE. BUT BETHANY TURNER DIDN’T QUIT HER FULL TIME CORPORATE JOB TO BECOME A FULL TIME AUTHOR BECAUSE SHEDOESN’T BELIEVE IN DREAMING BIG, NOW DID SHE?
Leave a Reply

