Push Tuesday

Originally published 7/2/14 on the See Bethany Blog

I wanted to express my thanks to all of the members of Rave Reviews Book Club who threw their support behind me yesterday, but I just couldn’t find a way to do it in 140 characters. So I’m doing it here, and I hope you’ll all take a moment to read.

When I went to bed on Tuesday night, I couldn’t shut my brain off. But that’s not unusual. I left a long-term career in banking in April to try and pursue the dream and, as I’m sure most of you know, along with the joy of the dream come the concerns of reality. So, there I was messing around on my phone when I should have been sleeping, and I received the e-mail which we all received from Marlena, stating I was the Wednesday author of PushWeek. Well, THAT wasn’t going to help me sleep!

I got up way too early, anxious to make the most of this wonderful gift I’d been given. The plan was to continue editing the next project (my non-stop job lately) while keeping an eye on social media in order to Retweet, Share, Favorite, and Like as much as possible. Well, I couldn’t focus on editing at all because the Mentions, Retweets, and Shout-Outs were never ending! What a wonderful problem to have!

While answering the constant dings of my computer and phone, I decided to mess around with a Pinterest page for the Abigail Phelps Series – something I had never really thought much about before. I figured it would be easy and mindless background work. Well, your support and encouragement got me wound up and inspired, and I may have possibly gone off the literary deep end in the process. (If you know the premise of theAbigail Phelps Series, that probably doesn’t come as much of a surprise!) But I had the most fun! (The advantage of writing real celebrities as characters? I can show you exactly what my characters look like. Except for Abby herself. That’s an important thing to remember! Abby is not real. But if you read the books I dare you to see if you can avoid thinking of her when you see certain real life celebrities. Reality is in the eye of the beholder, you know…)

So thank you all. For everything. The purchases of Abigail Phelps, Scenes From Highland Falls, and Two Thousand Years. The Follows on Facebook for my author page and the Abigail Phelps Series page. The Follows on Twitter for my handle, @BTLiteraryStuff, and Abby’s, @RealAbbyPhelps. (Yes, my fictional character Tweets!) She also blogs, so thanks to those of you who checked out her blog, and now mine. And I hope you will check out mycrazy Pinterest experiment.

You all were overwhelming, and I of course mean that in the best possible way. Rave Reviews Book Club has made a believer out of me – not that I doubted before! – and I look forward to trying to offer all of you as much support as you gave to me. But first I must sleep! Hopefully for a long time… And if you are reading this and you aren’t already a member, head on over and join. And tell them the exhausted, overwhelmed, grateful crazy lady sent you.

Leave a Reply

