Special Announcement

Originally posted 6/25/14 on the See Bethany Blog

On July 15, 2013 I self-published my first novel, Abigail Phelps. If you don’t know anything about the books which eventually became the Abigail Phelps Series, I hope you’ll check out the website for the series by clicking HERE, but go ahead and read the rest of the post first!

We’re coming up on the one year anniversary of the release (Scenes From Highland Falls andTwo Thousand Years were released, completing the series, on September 3, 2013) and I want to celebrate in a special way.

Self-publishing is hard! That’s not a complaint, it’s just a fact. Actually, let me put it this way: self-publishing is difficult to do well. And, if you know any of my Abigail Phelps origin story, you know that I was just having fun when I started out. I didn’t have a clue what I was doing! I wrote a book which I believed deserved a chance to be read, and I wanted it out there. So I threw it out there. And I’m glad I did. But that’s not to say there aren’t a few things which I wish I had done differently.

I’ve learned a lot in the past year. Some of what I’ve learned is about formatting and appearance of the book, some is about marketing, and a whole lot of it is about how difficult it all is. But the number one thing I’ve learned is that I am immensely proud of these books, and I want them to be read. So, I’m taking a big leap…

On July 15, 2014, I will be re-launching theAbigail Phelps Series. Two massive books and a short epilogue are becoming a proper trilogy. There may be title changes, and there will definitely be cover changes. The story will stay the same, but that’s not to say that every line will.

I’m nervous, and unbelievably excited. I’m still self-publishing, so there may still be mistakes and typos, but I’m going to do the absolute best I can.

And I’m going to have a fair amount of first edition inventory to clear off my shelves, so if you’re interested…

Regardless of how it all turns out, I feel like this is a necessary step. No matter how many books I write or characters I create, Abby will always be the most special in my heart. I can’t imagine that ever not being the case. So it’s time she gets the treatment she needs and deserves.
(Not the medical or psychological treatment she needs and deserves, of course. I think it’s too late for that…)

Stay posted for more details…
And, as always, thank you for your support.

Leave a Reply

