Ted Would Be Proud

Post by Abby (www.abbyphelps.com)

People

Remember back in July, when I blogged on the 15th anniversary of John’s death? (If you missed that one, you can read it here.) Well, I talked then about how nice it is that all of you who have read my memoirs know the true story of my relationship with John. It’s nice that I don’t have to hide that any longer, and it’s nice that you all offer me such support on days like that. And that’s true.

What’s not so great about you all knowing is that whenever certain people, certain “friends” of John and Carolyn, either a) decide it’s been too long since they last saw their own names in print, or b) cluelessly contribute by telling stories they still believe to be true, a magazine cover like that of this week’s People Magazine appears. And that part doesn’t bother me. What bothers me is the aftermath in my life.

The people in my life – truly in my life – handle it with the proper amount of indifference. Here are a few of the reactions to the People Magazine cover from the people closest to me. Or, as you may know them, a few of the characters in I’ve Loved These Days, Scenes From Highland Falls, and Two Thousand Years.

Chris: “Ted would be proud.”
George: “Looks like we’ve had it wrong, Abby. John and Carolyn were perfectly               happy and in love, it seems. RoseMarie Terenzio said so.” (If you haven’t yet made it to Scenes From Highland Falls, here’s a spoiler: RoseMarie was John’s assistant. And she didn’t like me much. RoseMarie is a major contributor to the People article.)
My Mother: “Carolyn looks pretty in that picture, doesn’t she?”

So, yeah…people in my life get it. They’re keeping it in perspective and making me laugh. Meanwhile, those who don’t know me as well are asking if I’m okay. “This must be so difficult for you,” they say. Why? Because People printed a photo of John and Carolyn together at Martha’s Vineyard? Guess what? There are photos of John and me together at Martha’s Vineyard, too. But you don’t get to see them. Because my friends aren’t “friends.”

If you don’t have a clue what’s going on here, start with I’ve Loved These Days. You’ll get caught up pretty quickly. But that doesn’t necessarily mean you’ll be any less confused. 

Click here to purchase I’ve Loved These Days for Kindle.
Click here to purchase I’ve Loved These Days in Paperback.

Leave a Reply

