Abby @ The Oscars – #2

The second mention of the Academy Awards is a brief one, but it comes on the precipice of major change in the life of Abigail Phelps.


EXCLUSIVE EXCERPT from I’ve Loved These Daysbook one in the Abigail Phelps Series

I've_Loved_These_Day_Cover_for_Kindle (2)With the release and success of Pretty Woman, I became a bona fide movie star. Most of the praise I had received for When Harry Met Sally… had been for writing, including an Oscar nomination, but with Pretty Woman I received my second Academy Award nomination for Best Actress, six years after my debut in Out of Africa. I lost again, this time to Kathy Bates for Misery, but I did win a Golden Globe for Best Actress in a Musical or Comedy. I didn’t have George there with me to laugh at it all, and I didn’t prepare a melodramatic speech that I knew I would never have to recite. Instead, I thanked the producers, and Garry Marshall, and the cast. It was dreadfully dull and safe, but very grown-up.

I was very much in demand, and had my pick of movies that I could have filmed. Tom Hanks and I wanted to work together, and he begged me to do a baseball movie called A League of Their Own, directed by Penny Marshall. I had worked with Penny’s brother and her ex-husband, so I joked that it only seemed right to work with the entire Marshall/Reiner Hollywood triumvirate. I was very close to signing on, and then life took a slightly different path.

I remember very clearly the contents of my mailbox that day: my electric bill, a Spiegel catalogue, a reminder that I was due for a dental cleaning, and an invitation to the wedding of Isabelle Duchesnay and Christopher Dean.

pretty-woman-51dd2e4817dc6

Leave a Reply

