The Year of Blogging Faithfully – Day 213

Today at church I showed the kids Joseph: King of Dreams. I had grabbed it on the way out the door, suspecting that we wouldn’t have very many kids there due to the huge amount of snow we have received. I had seen the movie a couple of times before, but it had been a long time. Have you seen it? I truly love it. There is a song called “Better Than I” which brings me to tears every single time I hear it. Joseph is imprisoned – after Potipher’s wife, before he became second in command – and he’s struggling with his faith. Understandably. He had, after all, been sold into slavery by his brothers and then gone to jail after he was falsely accused of attacking his master’s wife. Many of us have had a crisis of faith under less dire circumstances. And as he sat in jail, struggling with his faith, he sang a Broadway-worthy prayer. You know…like you do.

If this has been a test
I cannot see the reason
But maybe knowing I don’t know
Is part of getting through.

I try to do what’s best
And faith has made it easy
To see the best thing I can do
Is put my trust in you.

“Maybe knowing I don’t know is part of getting through.” Wow.

So then I was able to go over to the adult service for second service, and my pastor hit me with this truth:

“Real fulfillment comes through living by God’s power — by praying, by taking risks to obey God, and by not giving up.”

That’s all I can say right now. I’m still processing. Also, I just cried my way through the season finale of Downton Abbey and I’m too much of a sentimental ball of goo to make sense of anything. But these are the things I am pondering in my heart this evening, and I’m certain I will have more to say on the subject very soon.

Leave a Reply

